Hold The Vodka Please

“I began to think vodka was my drink at last.

It didn’t taste like anything,

but it went straight down into my stomach like a sword

swallowers’ sword and made me feel powerful and godlike.”

― Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

Last night was one of those nights that I don’t fully remember. I started having a few drinks, it turned into losing my pants and ending with me throwing up before passing out. Charming right? I do remember having a good time with good friends. I remember pieces of a brilliant phone call with my best friend. I am sure it was a lovely evening, but at almost 30 I have to ask myself what was I thinking? Work today has been hell and it is no where near over. Of course, I would pick the busiest time of the year to get wasted on a work night.

I have been working very hard to treat my body better. I am no longer drinking soda. Except the Cherry Coke I suck back every once and awhile. I am practicing clean eating. I work out 6 days a week at the gym and I am starting a 3 day a week boot camp. I love this lifestyle. I love the way I feel and the community I have found from it. I am starting to see my outer strength match my inner strength.

The last piece to my puzzle is drinking. While I love a good glass of wine. I need to find a healthy place that does not include Tuesday night black outs. Don’t get me wrong this does not happen often but it does happen. For now I will be putting the Vodka and Beer down. I will even be passing on my beloved wine. I don’t know if this will be forever. I do know that it is needed and will be helpful on this journey.

Signature_BuffaloPeach_grey

Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

