10 on Tuesday

Another Tuesday another Ten…

1. Girls.

I love the HBO show girls. I don’t enjoy watching Hannah shove a Q-Tip in her ear until it bleeds but what I do like is that they are showing the real thing, not OCD the cute, prissy condition where you line up your paper clips. They move the problem from perhaps a bit superficial place and move it to realistic and disturbing. She inserts a Q-tip into one ear and traumatizes it, causing a bloody mess and giving the episode its great line (“I heard hissing” after the puncture). She visits the emergency room. But in the episode’s last scene, she grabs the difficult third rail of mental illness once again, showing us Hannah placing a new Q-tip into the other ear. And counting.

I think they are willing to portray real OCD, not the scrubbed down and kinda fun version where people are cleaning their hands at inopportune times or else hopping over cracks in the sidewalk. They are trying—I hope—to pull the mental illness away from the lighthearted and silly, and show it as the anguishing compulsion that requires immediate attention.

I could have lived without Adams cum shot.

2. Pope.

Last night I was awake until 3 am watching CNN about the election of a new pope. I learned:

There are politics involved. They have front runners. People are talking like this is a political election compared to a spiritual decision.

2 of the 10 front runners they talked about are American. I vote American. Wait, I can not vote. Only Cardinals under the age of 80 can vote.

Black smoke, no pope. White smoke, success.

The Sistine Chapel is beautiful and I must visit.

Technically, any adult Catholic male can be elected to the papacy, but the last pope not chosen from the College of Cardinals was Urban VI in 1379.

3. Anderson Cooper.

Since I have been watching CNN for the last several hours. Who am I kidding? I watch CNN 24/7. I know I have an addiction and now I am wondering is my addiction CNN or is it Anderson Cooper. I record his afternoon talk show everyday as well. Several people at work like to pick on me saying I love Anderson Cooper but that he will never love me back. I am finally outing myself. I do in fact Love Anderson Cooper. Also, I always assumed he was homosexual but the day he came out I was proud and sad at the same time. I still have hope that someday he will meet me and fall in love. I would be totally cool with just being best friends.

4. Ghost Ship.

While that Carnival cruise ship finally limped home the other week, this abandoned Russian cruise ship “has been adrift in the North Atlantic since January, after breaking free from a towing line as it was being delivered from Canada to a scrapyard in the Dominican Republic.” The Lyubov Orlova once brought tourists to Antarctica as seen in the photo above but has now been spotted drifting towards Europe with a crew of rats. It’s a lot more romantic to imagine this ship disappearing in Antarctica.

Note to self: You are a not a boat person.

5. The Underwater Project.

Late night at Frothers from Mark Tipple on Vimeo.

Seriously it is beautiful.

6. Gun Hoofs.

Gun Hoofs by Iris Schieferstein… These make Christian Louboutin’s lion paw pumps look tame.

7. DietBet.

One week in and I have lost 6.8 Pounds. I am extremely proud and makes it easier to kick ass as the month goes on. I am craving sugar hard core though. Any suggestions for a Starbucks drink that is not completely ridiculously bad for me?

8. Argo

I finally watched Argo. Affleck once again proves himself to be one of Hollywood’s best and most consistent directors. Phenomenal writing and phenomenal acting in a movie that seems to be James Bond for pacifists. My only qualm is the lack of historical accuracy, but if you can look past it, there’s definitely and enjoyable film in there.

9. Sleep.

I really need to figure out what is going on with my sleep pattern or lack of. I don’t sleep for days or I only sleep a hour or two a night but then after about two weeks of this I crash and burn into a sleeping monster for the entire weekend. I have been taking things to help me sleep and now those are starting to fail me. I have tired meditating and nothing. Of course this is all on the nights that I am not up all night working. Those night don’t count.

10.

tumblr_m6v565DrgG1rqdopno1_400

Signature_BuffaloPeach_grey

Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

