Natural

I have had almost black hair for as long as I can remember. I love it the color and always felt it suited me very well. I first tried the color out my freshman year of college. I felt it would help me blend in with my family. My sister both have olive skin and dark hair and here I am fair skin and blonde hair, How could this happen to me?

I spent the better part of my early twenties trying self tanners, mist on tans and even natural rays. All of which have left me orange, unnatural or covered in blisters. I am now in my mid-twenties and see that I am never going to be tan and fair skin is just as nice if not nicer. I look younger and I have the great skin. When it comes to my hair though that is a different story I have held onto the black locks. That is until recently.

My mom would like to believe it was her suggestions that my hair would look better natural but it wasn’t. I just woke up one day, looked in the mirror and saw an era that had passed and natural was the look for me. I didn’t want to have to go to the salon every few weeks because I have blonde roots coming in. I wanted to be free of the chemicals. I went to my stylist and she looked at me awe-struck. She was concerned for the life of my hair that it was so healthy and this drastic change could potentially kill my lovely locks. I did not realize that I have been adding so much to my hair that to peel it away would mean the death of it. Needless to say I was not on board with this hair killing treatment. We can up with the idea of slowly high lighting my hair over the next few months and that eventually the combination of hair growth and highlights would develop back into my virgin hair color.

Fast forward 5 months and hundreds of dollars later. I think my stylist is a quack. My hair was still almost black. I had given up, that was until J told me that her girlfriend was hair stylist and was really reasonable in price. I was leery to say the least because I did not really care for the salon that she worked at. I went though what was the worst that could happen. She agreed that my hair had to highlighted to the color I wanted and not just zapped. She highlighted my hair and I instantly saw a difference. I love it. It is not completely natural but it progress and progress is good. I am waiting 6 weeks and going back for round 2 at half the price.

The pictures below are the progress it is not prefect nor is it done and the pictures are in my work bathroom on my Blackberry but you will get the idea.

Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

