Peanut Butter Fudge Treats

My older sister A is allergic to Gluten. Yes it is as horrible as it sounds. She was recently diagnosed and I can not imagine going 27 years of my life and then being told no more Flour, Wheat etc ever ever again. I give her credit though she has been a trooper. When I first found out about this I worried about my own future because a bus full on my mothers side of the family have this and it is genetic. I might be screwed. I went on mini shopping sprees trying to find the good in the gluten free world only to find out most of the stuff out there is just plan YUCK. I have found it easy to cook for her when it comes to dinner or basic meals because I have brought it back to a more wholesome times minus all the prepackaged garbage. Not so bad but when it comes to desert I have had a hard time. The cupcakes have been a train wreck, the pie the dog wouldn’t even eat. That was until I stumbled upon a recipe on an amazing blog Framed.  I love all of her recipes but more so this one gave me hope that my sister will have deserts in her future.

I made these for her and she can’t stop raving about them I hope you enjoy as well.  BONUS: They are super easy to make.. my nephew Z helped the entire time and loved it.

Rice Krispy Treats

3 tablespoons butter or margarine
4 cups miniature marshmallows
6 cups Rice Krispy Cereal (or any puffed rice cereal)

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add Rice Krispies cereal. Stir until well coated.
3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray.
4. Cool. Make Peanut Butter Fudge.
Peanut Butter Fudge (recipe from Alton Brown)
1 cup butter
1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 pound confectioners (powdered) sugar
1. Microwave butter and peanut butter for 2 minutes on high.

2. Stir and microwave on high for 2 more minutes. Add vanilla and powdered sugar to peanut butter mixture and stir to combine with a wooden spoon.

3. Pour over the Rice Krispy treats in the pan and spread evenly.

4. Let cool in the fridge while you make the Chocolate Fudge.

Easy Chocolate Fudge

2 Tbsp butter
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 2/3 cups sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups miniature marshmallows
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla

1. Combine butter, milk, sugar, and salt in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil; cook 4 to 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.

2. Stir in marshmallows, chocolate, and vanilla,. Beat for about 1 minute, or until marshmallows melt and mixture is thoroughly combined.

3. Pour over peanut butter fudge, spread evenly and place in the fridge to harden and cool.

4. Cut into 1-inch pieces or smaller.

Leave a Reply

  • Goodreads

